This majestic structure, with two passageways, five garden cottages, surrounded by four acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and magnificently framed gardens, has been transformed into 29 exclusive suites.
The building was originally designed by the famous architect Thomas Archer in 1712. He designed this house as a family home. In 1910, however, the famous architect of the time, Sir Edwin Lutyens, enlarged the house.
The house began to be used as a recreational area, where soldiers wounded during World War II were taken before recovery. The property was taken over by St. James in 2006. The building's three-story facade, lined with large red bricks, refers to the Georgian style of architecture. As conceived by Lutyens, it flanks the main entrance like two wings.
All suites have their own style reflecting the fascinating history of the place. It has the feel of its heyday. St James's meticulous work restores the home to its original state.
Magnificent circular portal windows, wide Georgian-style casements, intricate decorative elements, fireplaces, covered terraces, wooden panels and the original staircase – the restoration, carried out by real craftsmen, breathed life into all the main elements of the mansion.