Vegans – who they are. The essence of veganism and permitted foods

The content of the article



A huge number of people around the world do not eat meat. The reasons for this can be different, from ethical, social, moral, physical to spiritual. As a rule, such people are called vegetarians. Although there is a strict variety of this direction – veganism. Learn more about who vegans are..

Veganism – what is it

Eating plant foods is especially popular with celebrities. Although ordinary people try not to eat meat products, in view of their commitment to a special nutrition system. Vegetarianism is a voluntary rejection of animal meat. It can be of various forms. There is vegetarianism in which a person does not eat eggs, but at the same time drinks milk. A strict variety is veganism, which completely eliminates the use of animal products from everyday life and diet, as they cannot be obtained without killing or exploiting animals.

Who is vegan

Many people are often interested, vegans – who is this, and are they very different from other adherents of plant foods? Vegan is a veteran of vegetarianism. Veganism is the irreconcilable, most rigorous ethical type of vegetarianism in which absolutely all products acquired through the exploitation of animals are excluded. Both vegetarians and vegan do not eat meat, but at the same time, vegans also refuse:

  • honey, because this product is made by bees, and a person takes it for his needs;
  • eggs, milk, animal protein;
  • leather, fur, wool, silk;
  • gelatin;
  • products in the production of which animal components are used;
  • visits to the circus, zoo, bullfighting, aquarium;
  • vegans do not use cosmetics tested in animals.

Often vegans are ardent animal rights activists. They advocate for a ban on the circus and for the abolition of bullfighting around the world, as animals are forcibly held at such events. At zoos, vegans often hold rallies in support of its inhabitants. In addition, meat plants, poultry farms, fish factories, hunters and fishers are negatively affected by vegans..

Man with long hair

Types of Veganism

There can be many reasons for choosing veganism – individual preferences, faith, health issues (getting rid of diabetes or obesity). Many people become vegans and exclude meat products due to concerns about animals and the environment. For some, the transition to vegetarianism is often related to the economic situation, as cereals and vegetables are cheaper than meat products. There are several types of veganism:

  • Vegetarianism. You can eat eggs, but you can’t milk, cottage cheese, sour cream.
  • Lacto-vegetarianism. You can eat all dairy products, but you can’t eat eggs.
  • Pesco-vegetarianism. Possible seafood and fish.
  • Raw food diet. A strict variety of veganism. Meals only raw, not thermally processed foods.

What vegans eat

Often people who want to give up meat products do not know what vegetarians can eat, and what it is better to refuse vegans. As a rule, vegan consumes beans, beans, vegetables, fruits, greens. Vegans do not eat meat, honey, eggs, dairy products, fish. Adherents of veganism refuse food, in the manufacture of which animal products were used, for example, gelatin sweets (marshmallows, marshmallows), beer and sauces containing lecithin.

Vegan Cuisine

If you seriously decide to switch to vegan food, you should switch to it gradually, gradually adding recipes without meat to the menu. In addition, the former meat-eater should definitely find an alternative to products of animal origin, otherwise the body can be brought to vitamin deficiency. Vegans try to replace meat with vegetable products and make analogues that are not inferior to the taste of meat “predecessors”. Among the recipes you can find different ways to make vegan mayonnaise. Here are a few options for the vegan menu:

  • vegan pilaf with buckwheat and legumes;
  • potatoes with garlic and onions;
  • vegan rolls (instead of fish, avocado, tofu, mushrooms, cucumbers, tomatoes are used, and instead of cheese, lean vegan mayonnaise);
  • vegan baked goods without milk and eggs;
  • vegetable salads with greens and soy meat.

Vegetable salad

What vegans eat

Veganism is the most severe form of vegetarianism. Vegan completely excludes all animal products from its diet. In addition, the vegan medicine cabinet has no drugs that have been tested on animals. A standard vegan diet includes only plant foods, fruits, vegetables, and legumes. The most common vegan foods:

  • soybeans;
  • asparagus;
  • vegetable oil;
  • whole nuts (peanuts, almonds, hazelnuts);
  • tofu cheese;
  • fruits;
  • vegetables;
  • greenery;
  • Soy meat;
  • youyuba or korean asparagus;
  • soy sauce.

Vegetarian-friendly drinks include berries and fruits. Among the useful and delicious among vegans are compotes and fruit drinks. To prevent the leaching of calcium, vegans who care about their health should not consume foods and drinks containing caffeine, that is, coffee and strong tea are not consumed whenever possible. Due to the fact that milk is not allowed, vegans are automatically forbidden to drink kefir, yogurt, fermented baked milk. Veganism does not prohibit drinking alcohol. But vegans, as a rule, consume alcohol to the best of their ability. many of them go in for sports.

Vegan bodybuilders use “fast fuel” in the form of fruits before training. In addition, there is a specialized sports nutrition consisting of green tea, ginseng, turmeric, ginger, coconut oil. There is a variant of vegan “protein” from vitamins (iron, calcium, potassium, etc.) and vegetable purified protein, which often acts as a complete substitute for food.

What vegans can’t eat

Vegan foods do not contain animal fats. Many of the followers of this trend do not consume milk, eggs, honey. In addition, the vegan diet will not:

  • fish and seafood (mussels, squid, octopus);
  • preservatives;
  • mushrooms;
  • Sahara;
  • stimulants;
  • cheese with rennet, as it is obtained from the stomachs of young calves;
  • chocolate because in its composition there is milk powder;
  • mayonnaise (but you can use a special lean sauce);
  • marshmallows, marshmallows, as they are based on gelatin, which is made from animal bones (but you can agar-agar);
  • bakery products.

Fish and seafood

Vegan diet

Many women switch to veganism in the hope of fast weight loss, because the menu of such a nutrition system will be limited, because In addition to the prohibited standard vegan foods, it excludes high-calorie foods. A vegan diet for weight loss prohibits the use of many foods. Here is a list of some of them:

  • any eggs;
  • all types of meat, fish, poultry;
  • milk;
  • fast food;
  • packaged juices, soda;
  • from alcoholic drinks to vegans you can have only a little quality dry wine.

Over time, the body of a vegetarian adapts to such a diet. Saprotrophic bacteria appear in the vein’s intestines and stomach, processing foods with fiber that come with food. But we must act gradually. So, for weight loss on a vegan diet, you should take unlimited fruits and vegetables, whole grain dishes (4 servings), vegans and nuts, soy meat substitutes, in third place among vegans, i.e. natural protein (2 servings per day). Here’s an example vegan diet that takes all the requirements into account:

Breakfast

Lunch

Dinner

High tea

Dinner

tea, oatmeal with fruit

any fruit

vegetable soup with cereals and beans

fruit salad

portion of buckwheat, fresh vegetable salad

What is the difference between a vegan and a vegetarian

The word “vegetarian” comes from vegetus, the literal translation is “healthy, strong, peppy, fresh,” and the Latin phrase “homo vegetus” refers to a physically developed and spiritual person. Vegan is a vegan. Vegetarianism and veganism – two common food systems in which people refused meat food, have certain differences among themselves. The difference between a vegan and a vegetarian is that:

  • the latter can afford products such as eggs, milk, honey, but not vegan;
  • they become vegetarians to improve the quality of life, and vegans from principles that are based on general humanism for animals (they don’t even attend a circus, a zoo, oppose photos with animals);
  • wear furs, skin, apply cosmetics and products that have been tested on animals, a vegetarian can, and a vegan can not.

Girl with vegetables

International Vegan Day

Today in the world there are more than a billion people who adhere to the principles of vegetarianism. The most severe form of this trend is veganism, originated in 1944, the term was introduced by Donald Watson. Officially, international vegan day is celebrated on November 1, 1994. It is celebrated exactly one month after World Vegetarian Day – October 1.

Social events on the day of vegan are widespread and are dedicated to the dissemination of the basic ideas of veganism in modern society. These events urge people to maintain a healthy lifestyle, to protect animals. In addition, supporters of veganism hold rallies in support of the direction, treat everyone to their dishes.

Rate article
Tips on any topic from experts
Add comment

By clicking the "Submit comment" button, I consent to the processing of personal data and accept privacy policy